2006 Changtai 339 Pu-erh Tea Cake .Puerhshop.com

December 19, 2008 at 5:53 pm | Posted in Pu-Erh, Sheng (raw green), Tea Reviews | 2 Comments

Puerhshop.com(review) (product link). was 17.99/368g(13oz) = ~ 22.5$/lb (sweet price)

received with an order, its a 6.6g sample.

Leaf: looks mixed?/different colors (… no idea)

Method: not in my usual setup, I laid out the little teacups from the gaiwan set for their first time usage in ~ 2years.
3.6g in 4oz gaiwan but in batches of different unrecorded times most >25 sec <1min.
Photoed in natural light to avoid unpleasant colors of incandescent/fluorescent bulbs.

First of all a superb smoky smell quickly emanated from the liquor, it immediately drew my attention. (I am a fan of low smokiness especially in yunnan blacks, but i dislike lapsangs.)

Taste:

first little teacup was 30sec and the unfurled leaf did not release enough flavor =ย  watery on my tongue, though the smoky smell was nice and strong. follows: tannin greenish, tannin/astringency, 4oz later cant feel tannin much anymore, last oz was longer and felt green astringency. smokyness still going.
1-2 min after drinking, a mild sweet sensation felt in the back of throat but also tip of tongue?! I think i was also feeling the smokyness on my tongue ! (in my opinion the smokyness is nicely balanced, its not strong overpowering).
about after 8oz total the wet leaf smells of green pu ๐Ÿ™‚ aside of smoky.
more green now ๐Ÿ™‚
a little longer infusion and green tannin/astringency stands out but still “smoky”

Overall: the 1st green pu (of not that many) I am excited to drink !

Update: 2 days later this gives me as too much smokyness, and the smoky i feel now as rather on the chemical side as well just like lapsang…

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dude, what should I be drinking as I stumble upon your post but the very same tea … the first little piece I broke off (with just my fingers) from the new cake that I just got yesterday. I had a small sample that I tasted back in July that I found tasty, but not so irresistible that I couldn’t put off order the cake for a few months!

    It is nice, but there are many others as nice and more.

  2. no way !!! cheers ๐Ÿ™‚
    guess it depends on how each one likes the flavors.
    i mean its not really that diverse/complex … but i dunno, mostly i was happy to like it more than what ive tasted so far
    i guess i have still more and better to try as you point out


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

